1395/21 CII

THIS LETTER HAS BEEN FORWARDED TO THE EIGHT AREA CLERKS



The Regional Municipality of Durham

Corporate Services Department Legislative Services

605 Rossland Rd. E. Level 1 PO Box 623 Whitby, ON L1N 6A3 Canada

905-668-7711 1-800-372-1102 Fax: 905-668-9963

durham.ca

Don Beaton, BCom, M.P.A. Commissioner of Corporate Services December 23, 2021

N. Cooper, Clerk Town of Ajax 65 Harwood Avenue South Ajax, ON L1S 2H9

Dear Ms. Cooper:

RE: Discrimination of Freedom of Religion in Quebec's Bill 21 Our File: C00

Council of the Region of Durham, at its meeting held on December 22, 2021, adopted the following resolution:

"Whereas Durham Region consists of a diverse community, many of whom wear religious symbols including turbans, hijabs, Kippa, the cross and many others;

And Whereas the fundamental right of religious freedom is protected by the Charter of Rights and Freedoms;

And Whereas Durham Region, as one of Canada's fastest growing and most multicultural and diverse regional municipalities, stands firmly to support religious freedom as this is aligned with our Freedom of Rights under the Canadian Charter of Rights;

And Whereas Durham Region stands in solidarity with National Council of Canadian Muslims (NCCM) and the Canadian Civil Liberties Association (CCLA) in their legal challenge against Bill 21 in Quebec;

And Whereas Durham Regional Council believes that our region is the cultural centre for diversity and Canadian multiculturalism and Council bears a responsibility to stand up in defence of the Canadian multicultural mosaic;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Durham Regional Council support in principle the legal challenge against the discrimination of freedom of religion in Quebec's Bill 21; and

That staff be directed to report back on ways Durham Region could financially support the legal challenge by providing one-time funding not to exceed \$50,000."

Ralph Walton

Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

RW/np

c: Rod Phillips, MPP (Ajax) Lorne Coe, MPP (Whitby) Lindsay Park, MPP (Durham) Jennifer French, MPP (Oshawa) Laurie Scott, MPP (Haliburton/Kawartha Lakes/Brock) Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP (Pickering-Uxbridge) David Piccini, MPP (Northumberland-Peterborough South) Mark Holland, MP (Ajax) Erin O'Toole, MP (Durham) Jamie Schmale MP (Haliburton/Kawartha Lakes/Brock) Philip Lawrence, MP (Northumberland/Peterborough South) Colin Carrie MP(Oshawa) Jennifer O'Connell, MP (Pickering/Uxbridge) Ryan Turnbull, MP (Whitby)