

The Regional Municipality of Durham

Corporate Services Department Legislative Services

605 Rossland Rd. E. Level 1 PO Box 623 Whitby, ON L1N 6A3 Canada

905-668-7711 1-800-372-1102 Fax: 905-668-9963

durham.ca

Don Beaton, BCom, M.P.A.Commissioner of Corporate
Services

January 4, 2022

Vision Zero Task Force c/o Steven Kemp 605 Rossland Road East Box 911 Whitby, ON L1N 0B8

Dear Mr. Kemp:

RE: Vision Zero - Increased Enforcement

Our File: C12

Council of the Region of Durham, at its meeting held on December 22, 2021, adopted the following resolution:

"Whereas speeding on Regional and Local Municipal roads continues to be a significant concern and impediment to the goal of Vision Zero:

And whereas the Region and the area Municipalities continue to review and expand the designations of Community Safety Zones, where warranted, as a Vision Zero Countermeasure, in order to mitigate speeding concerns;

Therefore be it resolved that the Vision Zero Task Force be requested to work collaboratively with Durham Region Police Services (DRPS) to increase enforcement levels in Community Safety Zones and other areas of concern, and to advance and emphasize a Zero Tolerance Policy for speed limit violations; and

That a copy of this motion be forwarded to all Durham Region area Municipalities, Durham Region Police Services Board, all Durham Region School Boards, and the Vision Zero Task Force."

Ralph Walton

Ralph Walton, Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

RW/np

- c: Durham Region Police Services Board
 - N. Cooper, Clerk, Town of Ajax
 - J. Gallagher, Clerk, Municipality of Clarington
 - S. Cassel, City Clerk, City of Pickering
 - D. Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge
 - F. Lamanna, Clerk, Township of Brock
 - M. Medeiros, Clerk, City of Oshawa
 - B. Jamieson, Clerk, Township of Scugog
 - C. Harris, Clerk, Town of Whitby

Durham Catholic District School Board (DCDSB)

Durham District School Board (DDSB)

Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board (KPRDSB)

Peterborough, Victoria, Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board (PVNCCDSB)

Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir

Conseil scolaire Viamonde