Town of Whitby 575 Rossland Road East, Whitby, ON L1N 2M8 905.430.4300 whitby.ca



August 25, 2021

Via email:

The Honourable Doug Ford Premier of Ontario premier@ontario.ca

Re: OHIP Covered Eye Care Fees

Please be advised that at a meeting held on August 23, 2021, the Council of the Town of Whitby adopted the following as Resolution # 222-21:

Whereas routine eye care is critical to overall health, quality of life, and early detection of eye disease, such as glaucoma, cataracts, and macular degeneration; and,

Whereas OHIP payments for eye care have increased by 9% over the last 30 years, which is severely outpaced by inflationary costs to provide eye exams such as rent, staff, utilities, equipment, taxes, supplies, and investment in modern technology to allow for earlier detection of eye disease; and,

Whereas the Provincial government's refusal to formally negotiate with Optometrists for more than 30 years has forced Optometrists to absorb approximately \$173 million annually in the cost to deliver eye care to Ontarians; and,

Whereas Ontario Optometrists took action after the 2021 Ontario Budget did not address OHIP-insured eye care, and voted to withdraw OHIP services beginning September 1, 2021, unless the government agrees to legally-binding negotiations to provide cost recovery for these services; and,

Whereas this job action will jeopardize the provision of eye care and will have the greatest impact on vulnerable groups, including children and the elderly.

Now therefore, be it resolved:

1. That Council requests that the Provincial government address OHIP-insured eye care immediately and enter into legally-binding negotiations with Ontario Optometrists to fund eye care services by providing cost recovery, prior to any job action taking place; and,

2. That the Clerk forward a copy of this resolution to Premier Doug Ford, the Honourable Christine Elliott - Minister of Health, Durham Region MPs and MPPs, the Ontario Association of Optometrists, the Region of Durham, and Durham Region municipalities.

Should you require further information, please do not hesitate to contact the Office of the Town Clerk at 905.430.4315.

K. Douglas
Kathryn Douglas

Legislative Specialist

Copy: Ontario Association of Optometrists - <a href="mailto:oaoinfo@optom.on.ca">oaoinfo@optom.on.ca</a>

Honourable Christine Elliott, Minister of Health - <a href="mailto:christine.elliott@pc.ola.org">christine.elliott@pc.ola.org</a>

Lorne Coe, MPP, Whitby - <a href="mailto:lorne.coe@pc.ola.org">lorne.coe@pc.ola.org</a>

Lindsey Park, MPP - Durham - <a href="mailto:lindsey.park@pc.ola.org">lindsey.park@pc.ola.org</a>

Honourable Peter Bethlenfalvy, MPP, Pickering-Uxbridge -

peter.bethlenfalvy@pc.ola.org

Jennifer French, MPP, Oshawa - jfrench-co@ndp.on.ca

Honourable Rod Phillips, MPP, Ajax - rod.phillips@pc.ola.org Honourable

Mark Holland, MP, Ajax – mark.holland@parl.gc.ca

Colin Carrie, MP, Oshawa - colin.carrie@parl.gc.ca

Erin O'Toole, MP, Durham - erin.otoole@parl.gc.ca

Ryan Turnbull, MP, Whitby - turnbullwhitby@parl.gc.ca

Jennifer O'Connell, MP, Pickering-Uxbridge -

<u>Jennifer.oconnell@parl.g.ca</u> B. Jamieson, Clerk, Township of Scugog - <u>bjamieson@scugog.ca</u>

- F. Lamanna, Clerk, Township of Brock fernando.lamanna@brock.ca
- J. Gallagher, Clerk, Municipality of Clarington clerks@clarington.net
- M. Medeiros, Clerk, City of Oshawa clerks@oshawa.ca
- S. Cassel, Clerk, City of Pickering clerks@pickering.ca
- D. Leroux, Clerk, Township of Uxbridge dleroux@town.uxbridge.on.ca
- C. Harris, Town Clerk harrisc@whitby.ca