

# Office of the Mayor

T: 705-325-2447 F: 705-325-5178

🛛 mayor@orillia.ca

🌐 orillia.ca

50 Andrew St. S., Suite 300, Orillia, ON L3V 7T5

March 17, 2022

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities 80 Kent Street Suite 1100 Ottawa, ON K1P 0B6

The Honourable David Piccini Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks College Park 5<sup>th</sup> Floor, 777 Bay Street Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

Sent via email to: dominic.Leblanc@parl.gc.ca and minister.mecp@ontario.ca

Dear Minister LeBlanc and Minister Piccini:

#### Re: Holland Marsh Phosphorus Recycling Facility

At its meeting held on March 7, 2022, Orillia City Council adopted the following resolution with respect to implementing a province-wide mandatory cooling tower registry:

"THAT the Council of the Corporation of the City of Orillia supports the resolution dated November 16, 2021 from the Town of East Gwillimbury regarding the Holland Marsh Polder Phosphorus Recycling Facility;

AND THAT copies of a letter of support and the Town of East Gwillimbury's resolution be forwarded to the federal Minister of Infrastructure and Communities; the provincial Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority including all Members of Provincial Parliament, Members of Parliament and municipalities within the Lake Simcoe Watershed."



Minister LeBlanc and Minister Piccini March 17, 2022 Page 2 of 3

If you have any further questions, please contact me at mayor@orillia.ca.

Sincerely, eve Olarke Mayor

SC:as

Attach.: Town of East Gwillimbury Resolution

Copy to: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority Caroline Mulroney, MPP, York-Simcoe Doug Downey, MPP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Barrie Innisfil Jill Dunlop, MPP, Simcoe North Laurie Scott, MPP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock Doug Shipley, MP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte John Brassard, MP, Barrie Innsifil Scot Davidson, MP, York-Simcoe Adam Chambers, MP, Simcoe North Jamie Schmale, MP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock Lake Simcoe Watershed Municipalities: City of Barrie City of Kawartha Lakes City of Orillia County of Simcoe Regional Municipality of Durham Regional Municipality of York Town of Aurora Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury Town of East Gwillimbury Town of Georgina Town of Innisfil Town of Newmarket Town of New Tecumseth Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville Township of Brock Township of King

Minister LeBlanc and Minister Piccini March 17, 2022 Page 3 of 3

> Township of Oro-Medonte Township of Ramara Township of Scugog Township of Uxbridge

# Legal and Council Support Services



Tara Lajevardi, Hon.B.A. Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services 905-478-4282 ext. 3821 tlajevardi@eastgwillimbury.ca

November 30, 2021

The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities 180 Kent Street Suite 1100 Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0B6

Sent via email to <a href="mailto:Dominic.Leblanc@parl.gc.ca">Dominic.Leblanc@parl.gc.ca</a>

The Honourable David Piccini Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks College Park 5th Floor, 777 Bay St. Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

Sent via email to <u>david.piccini@pc.ola.org</u>

**Dear Ministers:** 

For your information and records, at its regular meeting held on November 16, 2021 the Council of the Town of East Gwillimbury enacted as follows:

WHEREAS the Holland Marsh Polder Phosphorus Recycling Facility is a proposed \$40million capital project by York Region; and

WHEREAS the Facility will reduce phosphorous runoff into the Holland River and Lake Simcoe by up to 40% and thereby protect the Lake's watershed from algae growth, resulting in better protection for the region's aquatic habitats, increased ecosystem biodiversity and protection of drinking water sources; and

WHEREAS the federal government has announced funding of up to \$16 million for the Facility and York Region has identified funding of up to \$25 million as part of their broader Upper York Sewage Solutions Project; and

WHEREAS further to the June announcement and introduction of the York Region Wastewater Act by the Ontario Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, which, if passed, would put on hold the Environmental Assessment application for the Upper York Sewage Solutions Project.

Town of East Gwillimbury 19000 Leslie Street, Sharon, Ontario LOG 1V0 I 905-478-4282 I Fax: 905-478-2808 www.eastgwillimbury.ca

## Legal and Council Support Services



Tara Lajevardi, Hon.B.A. Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services 905-478-4282 ext. 3821 tlajevardi@eastgwillimbury.ca

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED THAT the Town of East Gwillimbury respectfully request York Region, the Government of Canada and the Province of Ontario to work collaboratively to move the Holland Marsh Polder Phosphorous Recycling Facility forward notwithstanding the "paused" status of the broader Upper York Sewage Solutions Project, including undertaking an Environmental Assessment for the Phosphorous Reduction Facility commencing in 2021; and

THAT Council direct staff to forward a copy of this resolution to the federal Minister of Infrastructure and Communities; the provincial Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks; Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority including all MPPs, MPs and municipalities within the Lake Simcoe Watershed.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact the undersigned.

Yours truly,

Aaronogevoire (.

Tara Lajevardi, Hon.B.A. Municipal Clerk

cc: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority - admin@lsrca.on.ca Caroline Mulroney, MPP, York-Simcoe caroline.mulroneyco@pc.ola.org Doug Downey, MPP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte doug.downey@pc.ola.org Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Barrie Innisfil andrea.khanjin@pc.ola.org Jill Dunlop, MPP, Simcoe North jill.dunlop@pc.ola.org Laurie Scott, MPP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock laurie.scott@pc.ola.org Doug Shipley, MP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte Doug.Shipley@parl.gc.ca John Brassard, MP, Barrie Innsifil, john.brassard@parl.gc.ca Scot Davidson, MP, York-Simcoe Scot.Davidson@parl.gc.ca Adam Chambers, MP, Simcoe North <a href="mailto:adam.chambers@parl.gc.ca">adam.chambers@parl.gc.ca</a> Jamie Schmale, MP, Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock jamie.schmale@parl.gc.ca Chippewas of Georgina Island - sylvia.mccue@georginaisland.com Chippewas of Rama First Nation - evelynb@ramafirstnation.ca Town of Aurora - clerks@aurora.ca City of Barrie - wendy.cooke@barrie.ca

Town of East Gwillimbury

19000 Leslie Street, Sharon, Ontario LOG 1V0 I 905-478-4282 I Fax: 905-478-2808 www.eastgwillimbury.ca

## **Legal and Council Support Services**



Tara Lajevardi, Hon.B.A. Municipal Clerk/Director of Legislative Services 905-478-4282 ext. 3821 tlajevardi@eastgwillimbury.ca

Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury - info@townofbwg.com Township of Brock - Fernando.lamanna@brock.ca Regional Municipality of Durham - clerks@durham.ca Town of Georgina - info@georgina.ca Town of Innisfil - clerksoffice@innisfil.ca City of Kawartha Lakes - clerks@kawarthalakes.ca Township of King - <u>clerks@king.ca</u> Town of New Tecumseth - clerk@newtecumseth.ca Town of Newmarket - clerks@newmarket.ca City of Orillia - clerks@orillia.ca Township of Oro-Medonte - yaubichon@oro-medonte.ca Township of Ramara - ramara@ramara.ca Township of Scugog - clerks@scugog.ca County of Simcoe - clerks@simcoe.ca Town of Whitchurch-Stouffville - clerks@townofws.ca Township of Uxbridge - info@uxbridge.ca Municipality of York - regional.clerk@york.ca